Former New York State Traffic Court Judge Represents Drivers in Traffic Court

NYC Bronx and Harlem Traffic Court Judge, Harold Dee, a veteran of 25,000 motor vehicle and traffic violation hearings, represents clients’ interests in both Traffic Court and Criminal Court.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Mount Kisco, NY – February 24, 2016 – NYC Bronx and Harlem Traffic Court Judge, Harold Dee, a veteran of 25,000 motor vehicle and traffic violation hearings, represents clients’ interests in both Traffic Court and Criminal Court.

Harold Dee, a White Plains DWI lawyer, is located in New York’s Hudson Valley and specializes in representing motorists charged with violations of New York’s Vehicle and Traffic Law such as speeding and drunk driving. Harold Dee represents clients in the Courts of Westchester, NYC, Rockland, Dutchess, Columbia, Putnam, Sullivan, Green, Orange, Nassau and Suffolk Counties in New York State as well as courts in western Connecticut and northern NJ.

Harold Dee gained the knowledge and ability to protect clients while sitting as a Traffic Court Judge in Manhattan and the Bronx. Mr. Dee’s expertise, acquired over the last forty years, includes representing thousands of drivers in discussions, conferences, plea bargains, hearings and trials with local city, town and village prosecutors and District Attorneys. In addition to moving violations and drunk driving offenses, Harold Dee also represents motorists’ charged with traffic related crimes such as reckless driving, driving with a suspended or revoked license, and in hit and run accidents.

Harold Dee is a trustworthy, tenacious, and affordable Bedford DWI lawyer that promotes an excellent attorney-client relationship by keeping clients informed throughout hearings. If you are looking for a reliable Traffic and DWI Defense Attorney with the best possible representation, Harold Dee will help you to save your money and avoid getting points on your driver license. Don’t risk losing your license. For a free consultation, call 1-800-427-6533 or visit www.harolddee.com.

New York City Speed Limit To Officially Drop To 25 MPH On Nov. 7, 2014

New York City Speed Limit Drop To 25 MPH On Nov. 7

New York City Speed Limit Drops To 25 MPH

De Blasio Set To Sign Bill Reducing NYC Speed Limit From 30 MPH To 25 MPH

After an aggressive campaign to make NYC streets safer, the legislature has passed a bill to reduce the default speed limit in NYC from 30 MPH to 25 MPH, the new law is set to take effect on November 07, 2014.

Unless signs say otherwise, the speed limit on all city streets will be reduced from 30 mph to 25 mph. (Some large high-capacity streets will retain higher speed limits) Advocates of the bill urge that speed is deadly and the new legislation will save life’s.

What does this mean for the average NYC commuter/motorist? Fighting a traffic ticket in NYC is hard to begin with as no plea bargaining is allowed. With the advent of this new lower speed limit, we envision more tickets will be issued and more motorists might find themselves facing higher fines/points. Here is an example, let’s say a motorist was ticketed for 50/30 mph zone prior to November 7, 2014, they would be facing four (4) points and fines/surcharges to NYS DMV Traffic Violations Bureau. After November 7, that same motorist would be facing much harsher penalties. If the motorist were to be driving at the same speed of 50 MPH in the lower 25 MPH zone, they would be facing 6 points, fines/surcharges to NYS DMV Traffic Violations Bureau plus the motorist would owe an additional penalty to DMV Albany due to the driver assessment fee. (6 or more points in 18 months triggers the assessment which is minimally $100/year for 3 years) The new lower speed makes it more likely for motorist to accumulate more points on their license if convicted of speeding.

When entering the City of New York be conscious of your speed and slow down to avoid being stopped and ticketed!

USCIS is Now Accepting Green Card Applications Based on Same-Sex Marriages!

IMMIG-articleLarge

 

 

 

As reported in the New York Times on June 30, 2013, “An American man in Florida and his husband, who is from Bulgaria, have become the first same-sex married couple to be approved for a permanent resident visa, an immigration milestone that comes after the Supreme Court struck down a federal law against same-sex marriage.”

For the full-length NY Times article please click here:

New York State New Law – No Texting/Using a Cell Phone While Driving

 

New Texting law picture

Starting June 01, 2013, New York State will be further cracking down on using a handheld device/texting while driving. In the last few years, cell phone violations have went from no points to 2 than 3 and now 5.  This new law applies to talking on the cell phone as well as using the device to text/email.

 

Texting while driving has become a huge problem in the last few years as texting has become more common.  According to NY State, between 2011 and 2012, there was a 234% increase in the number of tickets issued for texting while driving

 

According to NY DMV:

 

What is the law on cell phone use while you operate a vehicle in NYS?

New York State has a law that does not allow you to use a hand-held mobile telephone while you drive. If you use a hand-held mobile telephone while you drive, except to call 911 or to contact medical, fire or police personnel about an emergency, you can receive a traffic ticket and pay a maximum fine of $100 and mandatory surcharges and fees of up to $85. For offenses committed between October 5, 2011 and May 31, 2013, this violation carries three driver violation points. For offenses committed on or after June 1, 2013, this violation carries five driver violation points.

What is the law on texting/using a cell phone while you operate a vehicle in NYS?

New York State law prohibits all drivers from using portable electronic devices, such as cell phones and smart phones, to send text messages or emails while driving. The penalty for a violation of this law is a fine of up to $150 plus mandatory surcharges and fees of up to $85. For offenses committed between October 5, 2011 and May 31, 2013, this violation carries three drivers’ violation points. For offenses committed on or after June 1, 2013, this violation carries five drivers violation points.

Using a handheld electronic device is now a primary offense; an officer may stop you if you are observed using a handheld device while driving.
Teens beware: being convicted of talking/texting while driving can take you off the road. Below is a chart showing how the new law unlike the old, will take a new driver off the road for a certain amount of time.

License Holders

Old Law

 

Cell Phone and Texting Convictions

New Law

 

Cell Phone and Texting Convictions

Suspension Revocation Points Suspension Revocation Points
Probationary No No 3 60 days for first conviction 6 months for subsequent conviction within 6 months of license restoration 5
Junior No No 3 60 days for first conviction 60 days for subsequent conviction within 6 months of license restoration 5
All others No No 3 No No 5

 

 

Tri-state Traffic And DWI Lawyers

TRI-STATE TRAFFIC AND DWI LAWYERS

TRI-STATE TRAFFIC TICKET AND DWI LAWYERS

If you are facing a drunk driving charge or any motor vehicle traffic offense, we can provide  fast, accurate answers about your problem and the best way to proceed based on forty years of experience in the practice of Vehicle and Traffic Law. The defense attorneys at the firm of Harold Dee, Attorney At Law, P.C. are familiar with and understand your concerns and the sense of urgency in dealing with what might be or become a difficult situation.
Corporate Charter Services
We will make every effort to ascertain, as well as understand, your legal predicament to better represent you in a vigorous and professional manner. Our attorneys explain every step of the legal process so you can make educated decisions for yourself. No matter what the charges you are facing, we can help!
Overtime Lawyer
Harold Dee is a former NYS/NYC Bronx and Manhattan Traffic Court Judge.  Mr. Dee is a veteran of 25,000 Motor Vehicle and Traffic Violation Hearings. He brings the wealth of a sitting experience, knowledge when representing you both in Traffic Court and Criminal Court.
Boston Employment Lawyer

Mr. Dee and his staff have the necessary knowledge and experience needed to properly protect your right to operate motor vehicles in the States of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. Mr. Dee’s experience and reputation has been built over 40 years of representing ten thousand (10,000) motorists in discussions, conferences and plea bargains, with various Village, Town, City and County Court’s Traffic Prosecutors and Assistant District Attorneys. The firm has been  successful in securing Not Guilty decisions in hundreds of trials for drunk driving, speeding, and operating while suspended (AUO) with local city, town, and village prosecutors, & DA’s.
Worm Gear Speed Reducers
Mr. Dee is trustworthy, tenacious and affordable. The firm will appear on your behalf in the Courts of Westchester, NYC, Nassau, Suffolk, Rockland, Dutchess, Columbia, Putnam, Orange, Greene and Columbia Counties in New York State as well as courts in western Connecticut and northern New Jersey.

 

NEW YORK TRAFFIC TICKET AND DWI DEFENSE LAWYERS

By far, speeding convictions take more New York drivers off the road than any other violation. New York State will suspend or revoke a motorist who has three or more speeding ticket convictions (and/or misdemeanors) for violations that occur within the same eighteen month (18) period. Many times the operator is completely unaware of New York’s stringent rules requiring a six month revocation of one’s driving privileges once three speeding convictions have occurred. Strange as it may seem, a motorist could be off the road for six months with only five (5) points on his/her license. For example, if each of your three speeding charges are bargained down to just five miles over the limit (60/55 mph zone) from a higher charge (i.e., 80/55 @ 6 points), the point total for each speed is only 3 points each (see chart within 1-10 mph over the limit is assessed three points) yielding 9 points in total, before taking the Driver Safety Course (which offers a four point reduction of the driver’s point total). Once the course is completed the motorist point total is only five (5) yet there is a six month revocation for having incurred three speeding traffic ticket or misdemeanors convictions within the same eighteen month period.

 

NEW JERSEY TRAFFIC TICKET AND DWI DEFENSE LAWYERS

If you have a NY license, and accumulate traffic violations in NJ, any subsequent out of state conviction (including any in NJ) will not appear on your NY abstract, only on the record of the sister state you were convicted in. While it may compromise your driving “privilege to operate” in the other state, it will not appear or affect you in NY. However,  if the situation is reversed and you are a NJ Driver facing a traffic violation in NY or another state, you must know that NJ takes points from out of state, as mentioned above, any moving violation out of state is assigned 2 points in NJ regardless of the points it carries in the out of state jurisdiction. As an aside getting points on your license may also increase your insurance rates. Contact your insurance agent for details.

 

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Point System

How many points can a motorist accumulate in NJ before being suspended? Below are the NJ DMV guidelines:

Points Accumulated

Period of Suspension

12-15 Points in a period of two years or less 30 Days
16-18 Points in a period of two years or less 60 Days
19-21 Points in a period of two years or less 90 Days
22-24 Points in a period of two years or less 120 Days
25-27 Points in a period of two years or less 150 Days
28 or more Points in a period of two years or less Not less then: 180 Days
12-14 Points in a period greater than two years Not less than: 30 Days
15-18 Points in a period greater than two years Not less than: 30 Days
19-22 Points in a period greater than two years Not less than: 60 Days
23-26 Points in a period greater than two years Not less than: 90 Days
27-30 Points in a period greater than two years Not less than: 120 Days
31-35 Points in a period greater than two years Not less than: 150 Days
36 or more Points in a period greater than two years Not less than: 180 Days

 

Some Common infractions and the points attached to them:

Infraction

Points

Reckless Driving

5

Careless Driving

2

Speeding up to 14 MPH above the limit

2

Speeding 15-29 MPH above the limit

4

Speeding 30 MPH or more above the limit

5

Improper Passing of School Bus

5

Moving violation out of state

2

 

NJ DMV reviews you driver’s abstract every time points or other serious events are added to your driving record. If you accumulate six or more points within three years from your last posted violation, you will receive a $150 Surcharge plus $25 for each additional point. A points based Surcharge can result in a Surcharge for three years.

Additional Surcharges may also apply that can result in a Surcharge due for three years:

  • $100 for driving without a license
  • $250 for driving with a suspended license
  • $100 for failure to insure a moped
  • $250 for operating an uninsured vehicle
  • $1,000 for initial DUI
  • $1,500.00 3rd DUI  (if occurs within three years of 1st offense)
  • $1,000 for Refusal to submit to a breathalyzer test after a DUI carstop

 

CONNECTICUT TRAFFIC TICKET AND DWI DEFENSE LAWYERS

As in NY and NJ, Connecticut goes by a point system. If a driver accumulates six points on their driving record, that driver can expect a warning letter from the DMV. If they are convicted of 10 or more points their ability to operate in CT will be suspended for 30 days. Infractions and the points they carry are listed below.

The DMV assesses one point for each of the following infractions:

  • Operating at unreasonable rate of speed
  • Speeding
  • Failure to drive in the proper lane
  • Illegal use of limited access highway by a bus, commercial vehicle, or vehicle with a trailer
  • Improper operation on multiple-lane highways
  • Improper operation on a divided highway
  • Wrong direction at rotary or one-way street
  • Improper turn, illegal turn, illegal stopping, or failure to signal intention to turn
  • Improper backing or starting
  • Failure to give proper signal
  • Operation of motorcycles abreast, illegal passing
  • Wrong way on a one-way street

 

The DMV assesses two points for the following infractions:

  • Slow speed, impeding traffic
  • Disobeying orders of an officer
  • Entering or leaving a controlled access highway at other than designated entrance or exit
  • Entry upon a limited access highway at a point other than a highway intersection or designated location
  • Executing a turn from the wrong lane or contrary to traffic control devices
  • Failure to obey the signal at a railroad crossing
  • Failure by a school bus, commercial motor vehicle carrying flammable or explosive substance, taxicab, motor vehicle in livery service, motor bus, or a motor vehicle used for the transportation of school children to stop at a railroad crossing
  • Failure to observe parkway or expressway restrictions
  • Failure to obey traffic control signal light
  • Failure to obey stop sign
  • Failure to obey yield sign
  • Operating a vehicle through a pedestrian safety zone

 

The DMV assesses three points for the following infractions:

  • Driving while impaired
  • Failure to keep right when meeting opposing traffic
  • Improper passing or failure to yield to a passing vehicle
  • Passing on the right
  • Passing in a no passing zone
  • Failure to keep to the right on a curve, grade, or when approaching an intersection
  • Failure to drive at a reasonable distance apart from other vehicles
  • Failure to grant the right of way at an intersection
  • Failure to grant the right of way at a junction of highways
  • Failure to yield when emerging from a driveway or private road
  • Failure to grant the right of way when emerging from an alley, driveway, or building
  • Failure to grant the right of way to an ambulance, police, or fire emergency apparatus
  • Failure to grant the right of way to a pedestrian

 

The CT DMV assesses four points for the following infractions:

  • Wagering, speed record
  • Failure to drive at a reasonable distance apart from another vehicle or intent to harass
  • Passing a stopped school bus

 

The CT DMV assesses five points for the following infractions:

  • Operation of a school bus at excessive speed
  • Negligent homicide with a motor vehicle

 

In Connecticut, a driver must attend an Operator Retraining Program if:

  • A driver 24 years of age or younger has two violations involving either a moving violation or a suspension violation on his or her driving record.
  • A driver who is 25 years of age or older has three violations involving either a moving violation or a suspension violation on his or her driving record.
  • After completion of an Operator Retraining Program, a driver must attain thirty-six (36) consecutive months without any additional moving violations or suspension violations.
  • If an additional violation is added to your driving record, CT DMV will suspend your driver’s license or operating privilege for 30 days upon a first conviction of a violation; 60 days upon a second conviction for a violation; and 90 days for a third or subsequent violation.

MOVING vs NON-MOVING VIOLATIONS

 

Violations are also classified by whether or not the vehicle was in motion at the type of the incident, and traffic tickets may therefore be for either moving or non-moving violations. Examples of moving violations include:

 

  • Speeding or driving below the minimum speed
  • Running a stop sign or red light
  • Driving without a seat belt
  • Drunk driving (DUI and DWI)

 

Non moving violations include:

 

  • Parking in a handicapped zone or other illegal parking
  • Driving with an invalid vehicle registration
  • Having expired or missing license plates
  • Leaving a vehicle unattended and running

For a free consultation regarding your privilege to operate in NY, NJ, or CT call or fill out a contact form today! Our telephone is easy to remember. 1.800.HAROLD.Dee   (800.427.6533).

Harold Dee’s office helps clients educate themselves about their legal rights before they seek counsel.  The following web links offer important information in English for the New York Tri-State area that will help you decide whether you should hire an attorney and what questions you should ask an attorney if you decide you need one.

 

New York links

New York State Office of the Attorney General

New York State Citizen Guide

New York Business

New York Consumer Protection Board

New York City Government

New York City Department of Corrections

New York City Department of Education

New York Bankruptcy Laws

Association of New York Intellectual Property Law

New York State Banking Department

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

New York State Department of Health

New York State Department of Transportation

New York State Department of Labor

New York State Insurance Department

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

New York State Department of State

Connecticut links

Connecticut Office of the Attorney General

Connecticut Real Estate Commission

Connecticut Department of Public Health, Lead Poisoning Prevention, and Control Program

State of Connecticut, Attorney General’s Office, Consumer Issues

State of Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Commission

Connecticut Department of Children and Families

Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection

Connecticut Department of Labor

Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles

Connecticut Department of Education

Connecticut Department of Higher Education

Connecticut Department of Public Health

Connecticut Department of Transportation

Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection

Connecticut Department of Agriculture

Back to Top

New Jersey links

New Jersey Attorney General

State of New Jersey Division of Taxation

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

New Jersey Real Estate Commission

State of New Jersey Workers Compensation

New Jersey Temporary Disability

New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs

New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance

New Jersey Department of Education

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services

New Jersey Department of Human Services

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development

New Jersey Department of State

New Jersey Department of Transportation

New Jersey Department of Treasury

Federal link

Federal Inmate Locator

Back to Top

 

About the Author

https://plus.google.com/101661905897486355524? rel+authur”>Harold Dee</a>

https://plus.google.com/101661905897486355524

 

 

New York State Speeding Ticket Proposal

quick24n-1-web

NEW YORK STATE GOVERNOR CUOMO’S NEW SPEEDING TICKET PROPOSAL  

Governor Cuomo is unhappy with the current state of plea bargaining in NY. Presently, a motorist (or their attorney) will negotiate a plea bargain, a mutually agreed upon guilty plea to a lesser charge and then the Judge can either accept the plea or refuse it. As long as all three parties are in agreement, there are no plea bargain restrictions as we speak.

Governor Cuomo wants to change that. His reasoning is that New York drivers get off too easy.

Between court fines/surcharges, insurance surcharges and driver assessment fees, motorist are punished enough and to add more restrictions would be to unfairly burden the motoring public.

What Governor Cuomo is proposing is the following: if your alleged speed is higher than 20 mph over the limit, a motorist would not be able to plea to a no point violation , they must take a violation that includes points. The Governor also wants to tack on a surcharge to VTL 1201A-a very common no point parking ticket plea which currently dictates that all the fine money ($50-$150) go to the town/village/city and not Albany, so that the surcharge will go to Albany.

NY drivers face enough hardships as it is. This is just another way to take money out of our pockets! This legislation will increase the amount of money Albany gets from traffic violations and the amount your insurance company sees, (it should be noted, points are held against a motorist 18 months from the violation date, but convictions stay on your driving record for 4 years from the conviction date and your driving record is what your insurance company uses to surcharge you).

This is a classic case of revenue raising . If you could be affected by these new guidelines you should call/write your local assemblyman and fight this proposed legislation.

As an aside, there is no plea bargaining in Traffic Violation Bureau in the five boroughs, this would affect all other areas of NY State and not NYC.

 

Cuomo wants fewer plea bargains and higher fees for speeding tickets

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/cuomo-crackdown-speeders-article-1.1247298#ixzz2NXcJBugd

About the Author

https://plus.google.com/101661905897486355524? rel+authur”>Harold Dee</a>

What is the Dream Act?

Immigration, Naturalization & Visa Lawyers in New York State

Immigration, Naturalization & Visa Lawyers in New York State

New Immigration Policy Keeps American Dream Alive For Young, Undocumented, Immigrants

The Dream Act allows certain people to apply for “Deferred Action” who came to the United States as children. Deferred Action allows these people to remain in the United States without fear of deportation and may also allow them to be granted a work permit. LTL Trucking Company
Hennion Walsh
Who is eligible for Deferred Action under the Dream Act?

If you meet ALL of the following requirements you are eligible to apply for Deferred Action under the Dream Act:
1) You entered the United States before your 16th birthday;
2) You have been continuously residing in the United States for since at least June 15, 2007
3) You are older than 15 years old today
4)You have not yet turned 31 years old
5) You have graduated High School or received your GED in the U.S. -or- you are currently attending High School in the U.S.
6) You have not been convicted of a Felony, a Serious Misdemeanor, or 3 or more non-serious Misdemeanors
Center City Apartments
Please call or e-mail our office today for a free consultation and assessment of your eligibility for Deferred Action under the Dream Act! Worm Gear Sets